2016.01.12 | fifa.com


Yesterday it was the 2015 FIFA Ballon D'Or Gala. Zlatan was voted the 11th best player in the world 2015 according to the results of the FIFA Ballon D'or 2015 voting.


Lionel Messi got most votes and won the 2015 FIFA Ballon D'or before Cristiano Ronaldo who came second and Neymar Jr. who came in third.


Lionel Messi - Best player in the world 2015.


FIFA Ballon D'Or 2015 top 11 (% of the total votes):

1. Lionel Messi, Barcelona - 41.33 %. 2015 FIFA Ballon D'Or Winner.

2. Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid - 27.76 %.

3. Neymar Jr., Barcelona - 7.86 %.

4. Robert Lewandowski, Bayern Münich - 4.17 %.

5. Luis Suàrez, Barcelona - 3.38 %.

6. Thomas Müller, Bayern Münich - 2.21 %.

7. Manuel Neuer, Bayern Münich - 1.97 %.

8. Eden Hazard, Chelsea - 1.33 %.

9. Andrès Iniesta, Barcelona - 1.24 %.

10. Alexis Sanchez, Arsenal - 1.18 %.

11. Zlatan Ibrahimović, PSG - 1.13 %.


This is the 10th time Zlatan is nominated to the Ballon D'Or shortlist. His best place was in 2013 when he was voted 4th best player in the world. Ibra's years in the Ballon D'Or voting:

2003: 20th

2004: 14th

2005: 8th

2007: 7th

2008: 9th

2009: 7th

2012: 10th

2013: 4th

2014: 13th

2015: 11th


Rules: One national team captain, one national team coach and one media representative from each country votes for who they think was the 3 best players in the world in 2015. Place number one gets five points, number 2 gets three points and place three gets one.


In total Zlatan received 22 votes.

4 votes - 1st placed = 20 points.

7 votes - 2nd placed = 21 points.

11 votes - 3rd placed = 11 points.

Total = 52 points.


The following national team captains voted Zlatan in their top 3:

Armenia (3rd), British Virgin Islands (3rd), Cameroon (2nd), Curacao (1st), Finland (3rd), Guinea-Bissau (3rd), Kyrgyzstan (1st), Laos (1st), Montenegro (3rd), New Caledonia (2nd), Sudan (2nd).


The following national team coaches voted Zlatan in their top 3:

Cambodia (2nd), Croatia (3rd), Jamaica (2nd), Norway (3rd), Slovenia (3rd), Sudan (2nd), Sweden (1st).


The following media representatives voted Zlatan in their top 3:

Kyrgyzstan (3rd), Northern Ireland (2nd), Yemen (3rd), Zambia (3rd).


As the team captain for Sweden Zlatan himself voted:

1. Lionel Messi, Barcelona.

2. Luis Suarez, Barcelona.

3. Neymar Jr., Barcelona.


FIFA Fifpro World XI was also presented on the gala yesterday.

This year Zlatan was not selected (he was in 2013), but teammate Thiago Silva was.


Rules: The team is selected by professionall football players worldwide, approximately 45,000 voting ballots were sent out and the players selected their best 11 in the world 2015


FIFA Fifpro World XI 2015.


FIFA Fifpro World XI 2015:

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer, Bayern Münich.

Right defender: Dani Alves, Barcelona.

Central defender: Thiago Silva, PSG.

Central defender: Sergio Ramos, Real Madrid.

Left defender: Marcelo, Real Madrid.

Midfielder: Luka Modrić, Real Madrid.

Midfielder: Paul Pogba, Juventus.

Midfielder: Andrès Iniesta, Barcelona.

Forward: Lionel Messi, Barcelona.

Forward: Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid.

Forward: Neymar Jr., Barcelona.


Link to all 2015 FIFA Ballon D'or votes.


Followong awards were presented on the gala:


FIFA Ballon d'Or: Lionel Messi
FIFA Women's World Player of the Year: Carli Lloyd
FIFA Puskás Award: Wendell Lira
FIFA World Coach of the Year (Men's): Luis Enrique
FIFA World Coach of the Year (Women's): Jill Ellis
FIFA FIFPro World XI: Neuer; Thiago Silva, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Dani Alves; Iniesta, Modric, Pogba; Messi, Neymar, Cristiano
FIFA Fair Play Award: All football organisations supporting refugees


Source: fifa.com.